Low-Carb Cooking

I used to be a chef. I make most everything from scratch. I have no willpower and love my own cooking. So I need to lose weight. I realized a few weeks ago I was eating carbs almost exclusively some days. Cereal for breakfast, sandwich for lunch, noodles for dinner with biscuits and popcorn in between. And I was tired all the time.

I read a blog about eating a Primal diet and I thought that if I took some of those ideas and swapped around what I was eating, maybe I’d feel better and lose some weight. I’ve been swapping for about a week now and I have noticed a difference, even though I doubt I’ve gone as low in total carbs as suggested. I’ve had some chocolate, a few homemade oatmeal raisin biscuits and a tortilla wrap, and a few new potatoes from our allotment. I think that if I allow myself a few “treats” and don’t feel guilty about them, I probably can keep going for longer than if I decide they are ‘bad’ foods and beat myself up when I end up eating them and I won’t feel deprived.

I don’t think I will be swapping nut flours for wheat flour completely – we can’t afford it! So if my hubby and my son are having carbs like bread and biscuits I will have something else. And I’m not going as low-carb as Atkins – that’s too far for me to go.

One recipe that has worked very well is a variation on Herman Friendship Cake – we got our “goo” a few weeks ago and my son has been really enjoying stirring and feeding Herman, so we’ll keep on with him and I’ll just abstain. If you haven’t met Herman yet here’s his website: http://www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com

Ground Nuts

My version:

Herman Friendship Cake

275g Herman sourdough starter
125g mixed ground nuts (I used sunflower seeds, walnuts and coconut, but use whatever you’ve got)
125g flour
2 eggs
5.5fl oz. oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 tsp baking powder
150g currants
1 cooking apple, cooked
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Mix everything together and put in a 9″ x 13″ greased baking tin for 25-35 minutes at 165’C. I don’t really know how low carb I’ve gone with this recipe; I took out 195g sugar and 125g flour and put in the ground nuts. If anyone else wants to try it when they have some Herman, I’d love to know how yours turned out!

I’ll post more recipes when I remember to get photos….

Ready to Bake

Finished Herman Cake
Want a piece?
Leave a Reply

