Photos….

I love making, but I hate taking photos. I have an old Canon point-&-click camera that really only likes being used outside. So I take photos in the morning in the shade.

I took some photos of a baby owl hat yesterday. I took some photos this morning (it’s overcast) of both the owl hats I made on 3 different fabrics. The results are just ok on white and cream and better on burlap. I was trying to get the colours of the main yarn as close to actual as I could. The pale yellow beak was always going to pop out and be a bit washed out against the darker yarns. I think I’m going to have to budget some money for daylight lamps and make myself a light box. I am going to use the burlap to retake some of the other photos I’m not happy with…. and ignore the ‘you must use a white background for your photos when selling on etsy’ mantra.

The photos:

Yesterday's baby hat photo on white in the sun.
Yesterday’s baby hat photo on white in the sun.
Today's hat photo overcast on cream fabric.
Today’s hat photo overcast on cream fabric.
Both hats on burlap.
Both hats on burlap.
The baby hat on burlap...
The baby hat on burlap…
The best shot of the yarn...
The best shot of the yarn…

I edited all the photos, but I barely had to brighten up the burlap ones to get the colours close to real life.

What camera do you use for product shots? Any suggestions for me?

(Owl hat pattern from Kat Goldin Designs http://www.etsy.com/shop/KatGoldinDesigns)

Leave a Reply

