Flowers, Gardens and Surprises

We live in a 100+ year old cottage, nothing picturesque or anything, but without fail, every year, at least 1 plant comes up that hasn’t before and usually I have no idea what it is. Sometimes they only come up once, as in the case of the daffodil that’s my avatar on my personal account on Facebook, or the huge purple poppies that appeared another year. Other times they come back bigger and stronger – Day lilies are one of these.

This year, I have 2 plants I don’t know what they are. One I’m sure is supposed to be a weed, and the other is some kind of iris, but I have no idea what species.

I always wanted an ‘English Cottage Garden’ here, but with having a job, then a child, 2 cats that like to sleep on the plant beds…. we haven’t done much. But then I remember the surprise plants we wouldn’t get to see if we started over again. I like surprises…..

Weed or Flower?
Weed or Flower?
Beautiful Colours!
Beautiful Colours!
Lots of leaves...
Lots of leaves…
Gorgeous Iris?
Gorgeous Iris?
Pale Irises
Pale Irises

Do you get any floral surprises in your garden?

Leave a Reply

