Keepsake Cushions

I managed to get some photos for a keepsake cushion I made in November (I think) – it was for my buyer’s daughter. I got a polo shirt, which are a little more time-consuming to make than a plain buttoned shirt.

I leave the collar on and fill it in with a sleeve, and sew shut the bottom of the shirt. With this one, because of the design of the shirt, I changed the font used in the patch so I didn’t cover up any of the design, with my buyer’s agreement.

My buyer was very happy with the end result — and wasn’t expecting it to be so big! “I have just collected my cushion from the post office. I love it! Thank You so much. I imagined it to be smaller than it is.
My daughter will love it.
Thank You for such a prompt service.”

These photos show the keepsake cushion cover while being made. Each one I make ends up being made slightly differently depending on the shirt/t-shirt/polo shirt/jumper, the size I can make and what my buyer would like.

Picking the size for the cushion cover
Picking the size for the cushion cover
With Patch added & sides sewn
With Patch added & sides sewn
Cut to size
Cut to size
The neckline is ready to fill in
The neckline is ready to fill in
Finished - with cushion form and bottom edge sewn shut.
Finished – with cushion form and bottom edge sewn shut.
Close-up of the patch
Close-up of the patch
Leave a Reply

